Second line

Hi out there. My husband was diagnosed in January and just started second line chemo after the first line failed. The doctors have high hopes second line will work. It's been very rough so far. We just got married in December and was then hit with this. Stage 4 nsclc. It sucks to say the least. We haven't even had a honeymoon yet. He's lost 50 pounds and chemo has exausted him. We are only 43. I forgot to mention that. Although I know the statistics and grim outcome of most with lung cancer. I choose to be positive. Miracles happen, we have faith and there are plenty out there that have beat the odds. I'm new to this sight. I'm glad I found it. The fight against stupid cancer continues. God bless you all.

Comments

• 2 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Let me be direct Micks wife. Your husband loves you and cancer will not change that. I strongly believe your bond of marriage, partnership or civil union is built on strength. Each of you will find ways to help the other find wholeness in your lives. You will know inner struggles daily and this is part of being a human - all you can do is show up for your husband each day with sincerity and humility. Knowing every step of the way they will be their best when you recognize it in them. The rest will take care of itself as will the diagnosis. Eat healthfully, exercise often and get outside regularly. Meditation and yoga can help if you find them beneficial to your stress level. My only caution would be to seek yoga classes outside of fitness clubs - seek those that are mindfulness or meditation based rather than exercise to your limit focused. The purist forms of yoga are about centering yourself and easing into your flexibility limits - not forcing it. Take walks, go see a sporting event or a movie. Maybe you would enjoy a trip to an art museum? Whatever activity will bring the two of you closer.

Wishing you strength

James