Nutrition help for cancer in the liver?

Hi all, I'm new to this forum and this is my first time reaching out to anyone. My mom has recurring endometrial cancer which has come back quite aggressively in her liver. (She was NED in May) She has many signs of a failing liver including nausea, pain, vomiting, diarrhea, and jaundice but she is scheduled to begin chemotherapy again next week. My concern is that she is so weak - she's not eating much and when she does it is junk. I came home To find nothing but snacks and takeout. I have tried for years to encourage my parents to eat healthier and take care of themselves but they don't keep up when I am not around (I live and work three hours away which really sucks at difficult times like these.) While I am happy To see her eat at all, I feel it is more important now than ever to be feeding her body proper nutrients and minerals especially to get her strength up for chemo - it took a lot out of her last time. Am I right to try to teach her to eat nutritiously? Am I overstepping? I just want to help her overall health and wellness. My dad agrees but doesn't know where to start because he is stubborn and not very healthy himself. In the past I've sent them Blue Apron or Hello Fresh but they think even that is too time consuming to prepare! Today I cleaned out their fridge, grocery shopped, and bought a nutribullet for her. My mom and younger sister both enjoyed a small serving of a smoothie and agree that it would be easy to prepare. I guess that is a start! I am also cooking dinner tonight. It has been challenging to find the right foods given the symptoms of her liver as well as type II diabetes. However, I'm hopeful that any well balanced meal would be better than the leftover pizza and Chinese food in the fridge. Does anyone else have any advice on nutrition and cancer? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• 2 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added