Neuropathy Question

Hi,

I'm very worried about my worsening peripheral neuropathy. I just turned 37. I'm an artist and musician and my hands and feet are becoming useless due to aggressive chemotherapy to treat Leukemia. I have no idea how I'll find value in my life if I survive cancer only to find I can no longer do the things that give my life purpose and joy.

I've read articles, but I don't see a lot of information about whether the neuropathy can actually be reversed. It seems like the best I can hope for is that the neuropathy will stop progressing when I'm done with chemo. I still have a lot of treatment left and I'm already at the point where I'll need to regain some feeling and motor function to start performing again.

Has anyone recovered from this? Is there any hope of getting feeling back in my hands? If not, can anyone recommend a process for discovering new purpose in life? I really don't want to give up everything I love at 37, but I need a lifeline here.

Comments

• 9 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Try new things! I love the outdoors and hiking but physically can't make it right now so this summer I picked up cross stitching and am making christmas presents... it especially makes me feel good to do something with purpose since I can't work and rely on others a bit for assistance around the house and rides. I play lots of games to keep my mind active. I recently adopted a new rescue dog so I am busy training... ideally someday I would like to have a therapy dog to visit patients with but not sure if my new pup will get there or not - regardless she is very cuddly, reasonably behaved and has noticeably reduced my stress levels. Obviously what works is different for everyone (I haven't experienced neuropathy myself) so I guess the key might just be staying open minding and experimenting - just don't give up on life!