22 y.o. with a grade II oligo

Hi all,

I was recently diagnosed in May 2011 with a grade II oligodendroglioma (not anaplastic). A week after I graduated from college at the age of 22, I had a seizure while I was on a Birthright trip in Israel. Fortunately, my brother was bunking with me and heard me yelling and convulsing so he got the EMT and they brought me to the hospital. After 2 CT scans and an MRI, they determined it was a tumor and flew me back to America to be with my family for the biopsy.

Back in South Florida, we had more MRI's done to confirm the tumor and find the best location for a biopsy. The tumor looked like a dumbbell, so the biopsy took out two samples from each of the bell regions. They determined it was grade II and slightly infiltrative, located in the left frontal lobe of my brain. Surgery was not advised because it is too risky to harm my brain. During the biopsy, they also took samples to test for the 1p/19q chromosomal co-deletions and the report said that 1p was deleted but not 19q. In other words, when I start my chemotherapy, it wouldn't respond as well as it would have if 19q had been deleted.

I went to Duke University for the Preston Robert Tisch Brain Tumor Center to consult with Dr. Henry Friedman's team. My neuro-oncologist there is Dr. Katy Peters and she is starting me on chemo on July 4 for a year on Temodar, 80mg PO. Interestingly, I have several doctors working together for my case, including my local oncologist, my neuro-surgeon (for the biopsy and other), my Duke neuro-oncologist, and my PCP. Oy. I will have MRI's every 2 months and go up to Duke to visit with the doctors to check my scans.