Rotten day

I haven't had a day this soundly bad in a long time. Thankfully none of it happens to have anything to do with cancer - well not directly at least.

Starting with thesis work. Without going into all the gory boring details, I have been working on a particular part since January and keep finsing problems. I found another today and it may mean another redo. Ugh, I am almost ready to toss in the towel. Halfway throught the summer and not much progress.

I started playing in a recreational soccer league this year. I wanted to play last year but was not ready. I built myself up to 5k run distance in the fall so I was ready this time. It was tough to get on a team but I managed just days before the first game. I didn't know anyone on the team of course and they had no idea about me.

4 games into the season and I am fed up with one guy in particular who has decided we need a coach to instruct us. He seems to have a particular issue with me. My ball skills are not as good as they once were, which is understandable given my circumstances, but my fitness isn't bad and my tactical understanding of the game has not changed. The guy has been challenging my tactics all season, but especially today telling me to do things you would tell 10 year olds about positions. I am sorry, but I am 30 and have been involved in soccer as a player, licensed referee, or a coach (sometimes more than one at a time) since I was 5. When my team is attacking, my job is to exploit open space to be open for a pass. As a defender, I hold back in support and rarely move into a direct attacking position, but I am still needed to distribute the ball, act as a release when the attackers are pressured, and be there to challenge loose balls. Any player is useless if they are actually marking their opponent when their team has posession of the ball. They are making the other team's job too easy, and that is precisely what that other guy was doing.