Wife and Mom of 2 kids- anyone else out there?

I'm completely new to this whole thing and, frankly, still floored, shocked, pissed, etc. I'm 32 and my 35-year old husband has esophageal cancer. We've been together 13 years and WILL BE celebrating our 10 year anniversary next year! I've always been the one with the colds and went through a thyroid issue in my early 20s, and always had a medical complaint and now my husband, my rock that never gets a sniffle- is sick. WTF- this is not fair!! I have 2 little ones- 3 years old and 9 months. Everyone in the GI Clinic is MUCH OLDER than us! Anyone else a mom and wife and just want support? I'm trying to keep my cool when I have my mom and wife hat on but in quiet moments I break down completely. I'm in Miami- where things are not so sunny here at the moment!! I'm also on FB (but I'm not posting things about the cancer on FB)- find me there too!! I just want friends to laugh and share things that work!

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I'm also a wife and mother of two (4 and 1 1/2), but I'm the cancer patient. It sucks!!! The only thing I've found that helps a little is to find as much humor in it as possible. Even if it's dark or raunchy :) You have every right to break down...hell, throw things if that helps, but no matter what, you have to keep yourself together somehow. Humor is my way of doing it. I'm not really good at the "sweet, positive" stuff. I'm much better at sarcasm and finding something funny in very serious situations.

I hope it gets better for you and your family. Keep hanging in there and feel free to vent if you need to.
  • Im a wife, mother of 2 (6&9), and also a patient. Have to agree with summoore, it sucks, humor and a supportive family is whats keeping me sane right now!

Get used to being the youngest ones around... I have not found anyone even close to my age yet!

Good luck with everything, and let us know if you need some support!