Work and School...

I begin chemo next week and I'm getting mixed signals from my different doctors. My oncologist said that I could very well be able to work through it and maintain my everyday life for the most part dependent upon my personal side effects. My general physician advised me to take some time off work because he didn't think it was a good idea.

Here's the kicker. I have two jobs. One full time and one part time. I already started a medical hiatus from the part time job so that is a non factor. However, I am a full time student.

I plan to maintain my full time job and stay in all my scheduled courses through chemo treatment. Can anyone advise if they think this is plausible or even whether you think it 's a good idea to attempt...

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • it sounds rough but treatment is a very individual thing. maybe you will be fine. maybe not. my treatment made it impossible for me to continue any job or school. I would be so severely immunocompromised that any human contact was dangerous. I had to wear a mask to get my blood tested to monitor for transfusion needs.

even once my official treatment ended and I was "cleared" officially, I had such terrible chemobrain issues that I could only handle a little part time school. one course and a little of my thesis work (that did not go terribly well. even that much was hard on me). it was probably 1.5yrs beforre I was able to get back into a fulltime school/work environment, but that was even very challenging for me.

and even now, 3yrs out, regular full time is about all I can handle. I have to sleep more than I used to. I can't be go-go-go like formerly. a full time job, school, and another part time job is absolutely out of the question for me.