Please don't congratulate me.

Please don't congratulate me on my "benign" brain tumor. First, it isn't benign, second, even if it was, you try sticking a benign golf ball sized object in your brain and see how great it feels.

It drives me crazy that because I "only" had surgery to remove my tumor that everyone automatically thinks it was just benign, that its over, done and in the past. Wrong. I had a mixed grade 2/3 astrocytoma...with more qualities of a grade 2 so my doctors suggested deferring treatment until it comes back. I get MRI's every three months, my first one, this past week, showed "potential new growth" already. It's only been four months since I had my surgery (where they "got it all"). We will watch it for a while longer but if it is definitely growing that means likely another surgery and biopsy, then starting radiation and chemo.

I will be the first to tell someone that statistics don't matter, I work as a nurse in a neonatal and pediatric/cardiac intensive care units. If I believed every statistic that came through the door I wouldn't be able to physically or emotionally do the job I do. But I've witnessed miracles, seen kiddos through that 1% chance of survival and I believe that statistics don't predict outcomes.

That being said I am also a realist. I am aware that a grade two astrocytoma comes with a median survival of 7.5 years, and that a grade 3 comes with a median survival of 18 months. At 25 years old neither of those are good options. I am aware that I have a very high chance of recurrence, especially with the higher grade cellularity that my biopsy showed and that because of that any recurrence would likely be a full on grade 3 or 4.